44 – Make Art Make Money with Elizabeth Hyde Stevens artwork
The Spark & The Art

44 – Make Art Make Money with Elizabeth Hyde Stevens

  • 1:05:55
  • February 5th 2015

TheSparkAndTheArt.com/44 – Jim Henson created the Muppets. But he didn’t do it on his own dime and he didn’t get people to work for free. If you feel like you need a little insight into how to ride the line between making money without compromising your art you’re going to love today’s talk with Elizabeth Hyde Stevens author of the book Make Art Make Money as she follows the career of Jim Henson through his struggles with keeping his art while still making money. 

**Links for Today's Episode**

Make Art Make Money - http://elizabethhydestevens.com/make-art-make-money/
Audible -http://www.audible.com/pd/Bios-Memoirs/Make-Art-Make-Money-Audiobook/B00IOTGGHK
The Art Of Money Getting - http://www.audible.com/pd/Business/The-Art-of-Money-Getting-Audiobook/B002V1JG06
Jim Henson - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jim_Henson
CTW - http://www.sesameworkshop.org/
Andy Goldworth - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Andy_Goldsworthy
Wilson’s Coffee Commercials - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZxLyuw5bdyk
Capital I - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wc1RfFYxZ2I
Cookie Monster Fruit - http://www.mjrcg.com/blog/2014/07/oppy-and-the-cookie-monster-want-kids-to-eat-brighter/
Lady Bug’s Picnic - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vX9J7WcYtxI
Pointer Sisters - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Pointer_Sisters
12! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JZshZp-cxKg
Bud Luckey - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bud_Luckey
George Lucas - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/George_Lucas
Star Wars - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Star_Wars
Jorge Gutierrez - TheSparkAndTheArt.com/26
Mary Robinetter Kowal - http://maryrobinettekowal.com/
The War Of Art - http://www.stevenpressfield.com/the-war-of-art/
Legend Of Bagger Vance - http://www.stevenpressfield.com/the-legend-of-bagger-vance/
Shigiru Miyamoto - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shigeru_Miyamoto
The Power Of Habit by Charles Duhigg - http://charlesduhigg.com/the-power-of-habit/
Ira Glass 'Nobody Tells This To Beginners' - http://zenpencils.com/comic/90-ira-glass-advice-for-beginners/
Muppet Show Pitch Reel - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KorhvVQRUM
Raffi - http://www.raffinews.com/
Baby Beluga - http://www.raffinews.com/store/childrens-music/baby-beluga#.VNGtmFXF_Mc
 

The Spark & The Art

The Spark & The Art Creativity Podcast ran for 155 episodes and talked about the creative life: Interviews with writers, musicians, filmmakers and more.

The show is on permanent hiatus but I still talk about creativity obsessively and you can find me at:

www.tuckerharleybrown.com

or

http://instagram.com/tuckerharleybrown